Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19-11-11, 17:26
coxylaad coxylaad is offline
Van Man
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 17
T5 Post Icon AXD to BNZ engine

Hi All,
I have just installed a BNZ into my VW caravelle, in place of the original AXD engine (don't ask) and apart from the turbo being different, everything has gone in no problem. Got it fired up, very smooth and very refined, but flat as a pancake!

on the flat it really struggles to get past 80mph, and according to the instruments its doing 21mpg - will verify this bit later. I have had my vag com on it and there are no error codes at all, everything is happy on the engine. I measured the boost and according to vagcom its producing the right amount of boost too, spiking just over 1bar, dropping back to 0.9bar and holding through.

Its got me a little baffled. If its boosting, and it doing 21mpg (ie chucking loads of fuel in) then it should be flying ?

any ideas anyone?

I had driven the van the BNZ engine came out of and it was much much quicker in there. something is a miss. The cam timing marks arent different on the BNZ engines are they?

Thanks for you help guys

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-11-11, 17:41
ALEXANDER MEERKAT ALEXANDER MEERKAT is offline
Van Jedi
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: charente france
Posts: 408
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

did you change the engine management box that belonged to the new engine, or using the axd one? try a remap?
simples
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-11-11, 07:22
coxylaad coxylaad is offline
Van Man
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 17
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

I am using the axd engine management system, otherwise I would have to be swapping looms as the BNZ managment uses a lambda probe which the AXD one doesnt.

Not sure a standard remap will help much. I need to know why its not working properly before I do that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-11-11, 07:51
T5 TDI T5 TDI is online now
Van Jedi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 418
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

A restriction in the intake maybe? The AXD has a vacuum operated changeover valve (flap) as part of the EGR valve but I'm sure the BNZ has an electrically operated EGR valve so if that is different I wonder if the changover valve is too. It's worth checking it is fully open once the engine is running.

Do the MAF expected and actual figures match up pretty well on VCDS?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-11-11, 08:45
coxylaad coxylaad is offline
Van Man
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 17
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

thanks for the replies, I have not checked the maf yet, and you are right about the intake flap, I swapped the older vacuum operated axd flap back onto my engine when I did the swap. it sits in the open position as default and i tested it by disconnecting the vacuum so it could never actuate. no different.

I think I may have found the problem though - the brake switch. I have read on the measuring blocks that 2 bits should change when I press the brake switch, only one changes, so I am going to check that the other one is permanently on then go from there.

I think that may be the issue.

will let you all know when I test it

thanks for your help

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-11-11, 10:17
coxylaad coxylaad is offline
Van Man
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 17
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

bah! no cigar, both the brake and clutch switches appear to be working perfectly.

its boosting up to 1.1bar, and settling back down to 1 bar through the rev range.

the MAF appears to be working correctly going off the measuring blocks.

Not sure what else is left? its got to be fueling. Not sure where else to look?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-11-11, 10:20
coxylaad coxylaad is offline
Van Man
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 17
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

just to add, the map expected values can be lower than the actually ones.

MAP sensor failure?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-11-11, 11:30
PendlePerformance's Avatar
PendlePerformance PendlePerformance is offline
Transporter Tuning Specialist
I Support Children In NeedOfficial TraderVW Transporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North West - Lancashire
Posts: 1,320
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by coxylaad View Post
just to add, the map expected values can be lower than the actually ones.

MAP sensor failure?
So you running lambda in this vehicle or not?

Its a simple fix either way, as within the software there is a switch telling the ecu what smokemap based map to use, there is a few options

Smokemap MAF
Smokemap MAP

or Lambda Based Smokemap.

Any no vagcom cannot switch these, you will need to get someone who can read the original software out, know within the software how to switch these and them write the modified software back in.

If you need anymore help just ask.

Regards
Martin

Agents Required, Join the Pendle Team

We are looking for a number of agents around the UK & Ireland, if you think you have what it takes to become your own boss and also join the Pendle team please get in touch..

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Contact Details
Phone : 01282 851025
Mobile : 07970 506203
Email : Sales@pendleperformance.com
www : www.pendleperformance.com
FaceBook : http://www.facebook.com/PendlePerformance

Maha LPS3000 Rolling Road Custom Tuning
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-11-11, 11:43
coxylaad coxylaad is offline
Van Man
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham
Posts: 17
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by PendlePerformance View Post
So you running lambda in this vehicle or not?

Its a simple fix either way, as within the software there is a switch telling the ecu what smokemap based map to use, there is a few options

Smokemap MAF
Smokemap MAP

or Lambda Based Smokemap.

Any no vagcom cannot switch these, you will need to get someone who can read the original software out, know within the software how to switch these and them write the modified software back in.

If you need anymore help just ask.

Regards
Martin
Just one question - who can read these cos I cant! I think I have pretty much exhaust all component failures, I am going to swap the map and the maf sensors this afternoon see if that helps. if not its got to be differences in the injectors?

point to note I get no smoke what so ever from the motor. its as if its just not putting anywhere near enough fuel in.

Must be mega lean.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-11-11, 13:39
T5 TDI T5 TDI is online now
Van Jedi
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 418
Default Re: AXD to BNZ engine

What happened to the original engine? If the exhaust it full of oil it could have blocked it. Same with the intercooler. The Map overshooting the requested boost by a bit is fairly normal. I think the map is part of the ECU so you won't be able to change it separately anyway.

You said the donor engine had a lamda right? Your engine is supposed to work with a lambda but your ECU isn't. The correct way to go is what Martin says (and he should know!) fit a lambda and get the ECU re-mapped. But there are costs involved.

You are in new territory with your new 'hybrid' van but you have done pretty well to get this far! I'd say make sure that you really have exhausted all the possibilities of intake, fuel or exhaust system restriction then take up Martin's kind offer of help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Merchandise Advert

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46.