Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-10, 14:54
Kate thingy's Avatar
Kate thingy Kate thingy is offline
Blue eyed leggy gobby bird, x
I Support MacmillanI Support CLIC SargentRegional CoordinatorOfficial MemberVW Transporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Essex- yeah c'mon with the jokes....
Posts: 4,029
Default Recon Turbo??

Hey guys,

Apparantly I need a turbo unit for my '02 2.5tdi. Garage has quoted me 900 fitted!!

So question is: Does anybody know a good reliable source of recon turbo's?

Please help a damsel in distress...............
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-10, 15:23
purple8's Avatar
purple8 purple8 is offline
Van Guru
Official MemberVW Transporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Spetisbury, Dorset
Posts: 179
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

Think they are the VNT type. Most places dont reckon them as they usually have been been superceeded.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Garrett-Turboc...item414fc8ba24
Usual price apparantly. yours might not be that particular model..

Although saying that. these guys offer decoke new seals etc at the bottom of listing...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-10, 15:38
shiro utsuri's Avatar
shiro utsuri shiro utsuri is offline
More than a little van obsessed
I Support CLIC SargentHelp For HeroesOfficial MemberVW Transporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: daventry
Posts: 5,263
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

origional is a kkk k14 . 600 quid for a recon . vw want 620 plus vat for a new unit with a 220 surcharge until you send old unit back for them to destroy so ppl cant recon them !, fitting is not the easiest job , manifold is a bit of a pain , so fittiing plus profit 900 sounds about right , but i wouldnt pay it cause i am tight
kieran

British Short Hair Cats Clicky
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-10, 15:42
darkman darkman is offline
Van Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: SouthCoast UK
Posts: 27
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

Are you sure it req a turbo??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-10, 15:51
johnwatt johnwatt is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: glasgow uddingston
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

http://www.brickwerks.co.uk/index.ph...emart&Itemid=6 420 inc vat. but you still need to check if its a kkk 14 you need

Last edited by johnwatt; 08-06-10 at 15:53. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-10, 15:53
Dazboi's Avatar
Dazboi Dazboi is offline
BMW? You gotta be serious!
Official MemberVW Transporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In a dark place
Posts: 13,234
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiro utsuri View Post
origional is a kkk k14 . 600 quid for a recon . vw want 620 plus vat for a new unit with a 220 surcharge until you send old unit back for them to destroy so ppl cant recon them !, fitting is not the easiest job , manifold is a bit of a pain , so fittiing plus profit 900 sounds about right , but i wouldnt pay it cause i am tight
kieran
remember kieran with that (if its genuine vw part) you get two years parts and labour on that warranty wise, so a 20 difference gives you an extra years warranty......

Been around the block a bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-10, 15:53
Dazboi's Avatar
Dazboi Dazboi is offline
BMW? You gotta be serious!
Official MemberVW Transporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In a dark place
Posts: 13,234
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

you could call through to steve at cv parts 01628418476 give him your details, they helped me get a recon turbo for my touran when the seller wouldnt pay for a new one

Been around the block a bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-10, 15:58
purple8's Avatar
purple8 purple8 is offline
Van Guru
Official MemberVW Transporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Spetisbury, Dorset
Posts: 179
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

BTN only list the KK upto 01. its then A garret gtv.
Whats ya reg i can chuck it the vrm lookup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-06-10, 16:01
T42 T42 is offline
Van Jedi
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 342
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

Turbo Technics.....just had one....exchange unit 450 + VAT delivered.

www.turbotechnics.com

Two years warranty I think.

Last edited by T42; 08-06-10 at 16:04.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-06-10, 16:24
johnwatt johnwatt is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: glasgow uddingston
Posts: 1,766
Default Re: Recon Turbo??

Quote:
Originally Posted by T42 View Post
Turbo Technics.....just had one....exchange unit 450 + VAT delivered.

www.turbotechnics.com

Two years warranty I think.
1 yr i think, i got mine from them in january .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Mug Banner

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43.