Help with buying a T4 LWB [Archive] - VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum

Help with buying a T4 LWB

vanvirgin
10-09-08, 09:44
Ok Guys and Gals, as my name suggest, i am new to all of this. :eek:

Over the next few days I am going out to try an track down a half decent van to form the basis for my project. I want to build a custom van around a LWB T4 (would like a T5 but can't afford one). So, a few questions...

Do i go for a 1.9 or a 2.5? turbo/Intercooler or what?
What should I be looking for in problem areas. I have looked a few on evil bay and there just seems so many at such a variety of prices I don't really know where to start.:(

I was thinking of a standard van that i can do the work on myself. Better than having to undo other peoples work. I live on the Nottinghamshire/Derbyshire border and would welcome any help or advise from local members with regard to choosing my first van.

Only other consideration is that it will have to be my daily transport and I do a few miles. I am an NVQ assessor and visit my clients at their work place so don't want to turn up in a beat up builders van (Currently running a volvo v70 d5se that does 52 to the gallon on diesel, anybody want to swap?) and the van will have to look a little less like a delivery van from day one and be economical.

So, any suggestions, ideas comments etc? What about mileage? I see them with 166,000 on and people are still asking 4,000+ I mileage a problem. Help is much needed.T:

croakey
10-09-08, 10:37
very interested in what you find, as at some point over the next few months i will be doing the exact same as yourself :)

jfc202
10-09-08, 11:21