Newbie 2.5l Petrol questions [Archive] - VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum

Newbie 2.5l Petrol questions

T4surf
06-03-09, 16:54
Hey all Newbie here,

I have been looking for The right T4 for Months and Months now trying to find the right one.

And finally one has come up, All good, exactly what ive been looking for BUT its a 2.5l Petrol!!!

Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of owning a 2.5l Petrol? And honestly (especially in this financial climate) just how econominal are the petrol versions???

EG:

average MPG?
Tax?
Insurance?
Reliability?

Is it worth hanging on for a Diesel?

Thanks All

vanheaven
06-03-09, 17:45
Hi and welcome to the forum. If you buy it i would convert it to gas. Ive had a 2.5 petrol in the past bundles of fun great power but not very economical. I would have another any day of the week but if i could afford it.
Pros: Fast, great drive, lovely sound and earn double clubcard points at tesco on fuel
Cons: not many just need a little more money to spend on fuel.
Advice: BUY IT

Kieran
06-03-09, 17:49
Hello mate.

Can of worms springs to mind! :eek:

I have a petrol and i love it. Yeah ok the mpg is 30 max but im running on lpg most of the time so actually getting 40+. Tax is fairly cheap at 100 for 6 months and most parts from what i can tell (engine) are cheaper than the diesels, serviceing too in theory should be cheaper.

Your gonna get people who have diesel saying there better and vise versa. If its a bargain then go for it. Expect to pay a little less on a petrol but barter them down enough and you may well have some left over for a gas convertion, Job's a good'un T:

Good luck.

marco
06-03-09, 20:01
I've had a petrol T4 for nearly 4yrs now and done 40+k with only one breakdown (a coil). Apart from the petrol consumption there's no drawbacks, only bonuses. I've seen one on Ebay with 420k that went for over 3k so high mileage isn't an issue and they are a lot quieter than diesels.