Do I have to tell insurance if.. [Archive] - VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum

Do I have to tell insurance if..

Mr fizik
06-05-09, 20:30
May sound like a silly question but

Do I have to declare to my insurance if I fit clear indicators? I am with direct line and they wont accept 'modifications' as I am under 25. Am already having to wait til next march (my renewal date) til I can fit the alloys that are in my garage, and just want to know what they would count as a modification, am sick of people thinking I am a builder!

Cheers, Isaac

So-Kal
06-05-09, 20:51
Declare EVERYTHING, because, should the worse come to the worse, if you haven't, they WILL refuse to pay up.

And that's clear indicators, stickers, go faster stripes, you name it............even the most trivial of mod, if undeclared, is just the excuse the insurance are looking for to avoid paying you on any claim...........

Billybus
06-05-09, 21:01
-----------------

neutronium
06-05-09, 21:06
Got to agree, always best to tell them. It sounds trivial but if you let them know then they can't use it against you at a later date.

Sounds like your insurance company are a nightmare :(

I declared my stuff and it didn't seem to make any difference...mind you I am an old fart :D

Freespirit
10-05-09, 09:39
:cool: "done before i bought it, guv, didnt realise it was a mod" do you really think, apart for performance or brake mods these guys know what a mod is, they think he rides a scooter down brighton and causes hastle, tell em anyway for peace of mind, and inform them that it improves safety T:

So-Kal
10-05-09, 14:36
:cool: "done before i bought it, guv, didnt realise it was a mod"

Good luck with that one..........

Seriously - as has been said already, there are people employed by the insurance companies who's job it is to make sure they don't have to pay up.