Old 08-08-12, 22:16
Van Man

T4 Post Icon DIY Water Pump replacement 1995 1.9TD part 1

Well..... after some indecision I dove in bought a pump and decided to have a go.. Now, I'm a complete engine novice, but buggered if im going to pay a few hundred squids to a garage for something that looks to be a few hours work, even to my untrained eye.

Pre 1996 water pumps arnt linked to the timing chain so its no major drama.... BUT

"disclaimer bit"
I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I'M DOING OR MECHANICAL KNOWLEDGE: THIS IS JUST ME HAVING A GO AND SHOWING YOU WHAT I DID. SEEK EXPERT ADVICE FIRST...... don't pay for it tho FFS!

Ok firstly... service and repair guides free here for all VW's.. i advise at least having a look, then throw away the instructions

http://elsaweb.spaghetticoder.org/

TBH.... I have never done anything like this before, but I managed to get my water pump off in less than 30 mins and a new one back on within an hour. The fiddliest bit was the hose clips would you believe...?

Ok here is part 1: in picture form for those of us who see better than we read!

One last thing I forgot to mention contrary to last picture.. Dont forget to remove the lower hose (2 nuts underneath) inside that you will find a valve... its the thermostat, you will need to put this in the new pump or replace it...

Part 2 to follow later
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-08-12, 12:37
Serial Poster
I Support CLIC Sargent

Default Re: DIY Water Pump replacement 1995 1.9TD part 1

Great guide

I would say put the thermo-stat back on (get a new one) whilst pump is off, also put the hose's back on whilst the pump is off, you can make sure its on right then, is nice and tight, and doesnt leak

Did this job last week and sheared a bolt on the thermo stat housing due to insufficient light and access,,re-assembled old housing and new pump bod in the end.
Old 15-08-12, 04:45
Van Jedi

Hi all you TDi experts.