Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29-01-12, 11:15
ahay!'s Avatar
ahay! ahay! is offline
More than a little van obsessed
International CoordinatorI Support Cancer Research UKRegional Coordinator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The Ham
Posts: 5,073
Default Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

Sony Rotary Commander RM/X4S

Normally located on the steering column this was fitted to the rear of my van and worked well in conjunction with a Pioneer head unit
(for sale on another thread).
It is I believe a universal fit, although your head unit obviously needs the relevent input.
It controls most (all?) of the funtions on the cd/radio.

5 collected 7 posted (there will be no added postage if purchased with the head unit)






Any questions? Just let me know

Gucken Gemien In Friesan Grun........ Mit Nieder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 31-01-12, 11:26
ahay!'s Avatar
ahay! ahay! is offline
More than a little van obsessed
International CoordinatorI Support Cancer Research UKRegional Coordinator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The Ham
Posts: 5,073
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)


Gucken Gemien In Friesan Grun........ Mit Nieder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 31-01-12, 14:01
t4 Zimbo's Avatar
t4 Zimbo t4 Zimbo is offline
Serial Poster
I Support CLIC Sargent
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,863
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

Could you post a pic of the plug/wire? Just trying to work out if it's the same single remote plug on my headunit.

FIRST DIBS PENDING PIC!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old 31-01-12, 15:22
ahay!'s Avatar
ahay! ahay! is offline
More than a little van obsessed
International CoordinatorI Support Cancer Research UKRegional Coordinator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The Ham
Posts: 5,073
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

OK Zimbo firstly this is what it looks like at the moment



However a more helpful and complete answer is that I think (?) it was pluged in via the blue cable, see label



That wire goes into the back of this plug



Which looks like this from the front



And the back of the headunit to which it was attached looks like this



I hope this is what you need if not ask away.
I fear we may have reached the end of my knowledge .....but I know a man who knows

Gucken Gemien In Friesan Grun........ Mit Nieder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 31-01-12, 20:17
ahay!'s Avatar
ahay! ahay! is offline
More than a little van obsessed
International CoordinatorI Support Cancer Research UKRegional Coordinator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The Ham
Posts: 5,073
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

News is reaching me from an eminent member on here, that the above may well all be cack. More research needed and info posted up when it arrives

Gucken Gemien In Friesan Grun........ Mit Nieder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 31-01-12, 20:48
t4 Zimbo's Avatar
t4 Zimbo t4 Zimbo is offline
Serial Poster
I Support CLIC Sargent
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,863
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahay! View Post
News is reaching me from an eminent member on here, that the above may well all be cack. More research needed and info posted up when it arrives
Eagerly awaiting further info... I have said blue cable unused on my head unit...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 31-01-12, 20:55
ahay!'s Avatar
ahay! ahay! is offline
More than a little van obsessed
International CoordinatorI Support Cancer Research UKRegional Coordinator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The Ham
Posts: 5,073
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

OK Zimbo

After I posted my original answer I was contacted by my new forum hero "Spanners". Saying that my reply wasn't correct and offering to locate the relevant info and I have copied the answer that he came back with in full below


"This is what the connector should look like

http://amadora.olx.pt/comando-sony-r...0-iid-66661782

Link to the manual

http://pdf.crse.com/manuals/3861880411.pdf

Wiring and resistance

Resistance measures:
SONY RM-X2S & RM-X4S
0R Off
2.2k Source
4.4k Mute
6.6k List(Disp)
8.8k Seek up
12.1k Seek down
16.8k Volume up
23.6k Volume down
33.6k Select
48.6k Mode
Pinout:
RED wire signal
WHITE wire SHIFT
SHIELD siglal ground

Hope this helps "

Well I think we can agree it did Thanks Spanners

Gucken Gemien In Friesan Grun........ Mit Nieder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 31-01-12, 21:08
t4 Zimbo's Avatar
t4 Zimbo t4 Zimbo is offline
Serial Poster
I Support CLIC Sargent
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,863
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

Now that was very useful. Thank you Spanners!

Sadly I do not believe my Halfrauds value rip(off)speed headunit would be compatible with such a sophisticated device...

Dibs withdrawn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 31-01-12, 21:15
ahay!'s Avatar
ahay! ahay! is offline
More than a little van obsessed
International CoordinatorI Support Cancer Research UKRegional Coordinator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The Ham
Posts: 5,073
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

No worries

Gucken Gemien In Friesan Grun........ Mit Nieder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 31-01-12, 21:24
BattleBus's Avatar
BattleBus BattleBus is offline
still here
I Support MacmillanI Support CLIC SargentOfficial MemberVW TransporterModerator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Battle
Posts: 3,394
Default Re: Sony Rotary Commander for head unit (universal)

"Emma and i think the new avatar is bob on" bump

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
rotary contoller, sony

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live
First Name
Surname
Postcode
Postbit Orientation
Change the display of the avatars and members types.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Body & Engine Type
Tell us about your van.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25.