VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have now spent a week trawling for any snippets of info to clarify exactly how to time the pump on my van but got no where. I am a competent home mechanic but never timed an engine before from scratch.

Having just fitted a new fuel pump to my ABL engine I would like to check the process on timing it. All the info I have found seem to relate to the older version of this pump commonly found on the AAZ where the can be timed through moving it on its mounts. I have the fixed pump (so doesn't move on its mounts). I have been through the same process except timing the pump by turning the spindle with the pulley slackened off (vernier style pulley). The only thing that leaves me feeling slightly uncomfortable is that once the pump is timed, the locking holes on the spindle/pump body no longer line up when the crank/cam are at tdc.

I have read and heard conflicting things, some suggest the pump should be timed like the AAZ, with belt fitted, inserting the dial with 2mm of preload, rotating engine anti clockwise until dial stops moving, zero the gauge, rotate clockwise back to tdc, take reading and adjust to 1.0 +/- 0.2mm. Others suggest not to turn engine anti clockwise and to go clockwise from the off.

I'm sure I am probably over complicating this completely but having not done it before I'd just like to make sure everything is right.

Any help on clarifying this would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
120 Posts
Strange that your pump doesnt move on its mounts, the few I've done have had some adjustment on the slotted holes. Anyway you will need to set up the lift as you say and then bolt the pulley on, unfortunately making the timing holes line up isn't really possible with out adjustable mounting as I doubt the cambelt teeth will line up as well

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3