VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I had my can serviced shortly before the lock down. As part of that the trusted garage overhauled a out of the cooling system. Recently there has been a leak which has got to the point of about a litre a week now.

I was waiting to get out in to the garage but can't get hold of them for an unknown reason so thought I'd take a look myself. I got the engine pan of and the bottom of the engine was a bit of a sorry state. After cleaning everything up and getting repeatedly dropped on, I think I have finally found the culprit. I checked Haynes but can't figure out what the offender is and therefore how to fix it so I wondered if you marvelous folk may be able to help out at all??!

It is leaking from where a blue electrical connection goes into the front of the engine. Sorry I can't be more precise but I'm an absolute rookie! I did however get a picture of that helps at all? It's circled in red, and you can see the next drop forming! :(

IMG_20200509_153614~2.jpg

Any help greatly appreciated.

Best regards.
Rob

·
Registered
345 Posts
It's your coolant temperature sensor pal. The O-ring has most likely perished. It's a really easy cheap fix. If you buy the sensor off Ebay look for just campers for good quality, it will come with everything you need. Make sure you get the same colour sensor & check how many pins it has. It'll be 2 or 4 pin.

·
Registered
8 Posts