VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm new to T5 ownership and this is my first post on here, ive spent many hours researching all the excellent data on here before taking the plunge and getting my own van so thank you everyone for what i have learnt to date.

Ive had my van about a month, she's a bit of a tatty white panel van with 117,000 miles on the clock. Its going to be an ongoing project to spruce it up.

I have what i'm hoping is a electrical gremlin. not long after owning the van the oil light came on so i took it to my local mechanic and he found a faulty oil pressure switch (just the one sensor on the motor im lead to believe?) and swapped it out for a new one and that solved the problem for a couple of weeks but now the problem is back.

The oil light will only come on once the engine is warm (after being driven for 15-20mins) and it only comes on when the rev gauge passes the 1500 rpm mark. i get a buzzer and a couple of flashes from the red oil light. then as quick as it has come on it vanishes.

If the revs pass through the 1500 - 2000 rpm quickly like they do in 1st and 2nd then it doesn't seem to activate the light/buzzer. but when the needle is allowed to hover around the 1500 mark the alarm sounds and the light flashes. this is really annoying as this is exactly the rev range i use when i'm cruising in 6th and every time i have to slow for a corner i get the buzzer.

If i change my driving style and shift gear higher in the rev range and drop a gear when slowing to avoid the buzzer sweet spot i get no alarm or lights at all.

So my question is has anyone had any experiance of this problem and could they share how they fixed it?
I have done a search on here and haven't managed to find a fault thats matches my symptoms yet. the only post i can find is here http://www.vwaudiforum.co.uk/forum/showthread.php/21573-oil-pressure-light-and-buzzer