VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Premium Member
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So this is what I ended up with. Despite me actually wanting something with six seats, central locking, electric windows and properly carpeted........I got this.......

3 seats, manual windows, manual locking, barn doors don't unlock from the outside, heating doesn't work, really job of carpeting with not much insulation me thinks, and the barn door windows have been painted rather than tinted :*

I should add that I never done anything on this scale before, I am a moderately competent home mechanic if I have a set of instructions and the right tools. Never before done paint, bodywork, welding, carpeting, electrics..........this is going to be an interesting journey.

This is the very loose plan and numbered in order of how I am going to do it....

Jobs to do:

1, sort heater matrix - DONE!
2, leisure battery wiring up
2, ECB and external hook up
2, paint roof
2, paint body
2, change fixed driver rear window for a slider
2, gut the interior - new insulation, sound deadening, carpet, down lighters, speakers - DONE!
2, find a temporary 3 seat bench for the rear - DONE!
2, paint dash - DONE!
2, change dials / replace bulbs
2, fit roof spoiler
2, headlight loom - DONE!
2, erbspacher
2, full width r'n'r bed
2, vinyl the door cards
2, new wheels
2, sort minor oil leak - DONE!
2, replace front indicators and whole rear cluster - DONE!
2, remote central locking
2, pop up roof
2, replace front seats

This is the van

·
Premium Member
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I had no heat in the van, cables all fine, motor works fine, vent selector dial works fine just get no heat. Turns out the pipes connecting the matrix to the cooling system have been disconnected from the cooling system. I have been reading up about the heater matrix and how some people have used magic to remove it without removing the dash :confused: No idea how you manage to do that!