VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.. My dad has just received inheritance and has a bit of money to spend.
He has his eyes set on a VW. He's been keeping his eye on gumtree/ebay for the last few days, looking at converted vans.

Now, here's where I need advice..
He's got around £10,000 to spend, looking for a relatively new van (2003 onwards)
Would it be worth doing a conversion himself? or buying an already converted?

He is a maintaince engineer by trade and has had no experience converting cars/vans in the past, though I've suggested he might appreciate it more if he put in the time and effort himself.

What are the pro's and con's of both options? What option is he likely to get more value for money from?
Thanks

·
Registered
640 Posts
Hi, Ive bought 2 vans, 1 is a 58 swb and paid £850 + then £3000 to convert to a very nice camper by doing it myself, the other is a 61 lwb and again converted it myself for around £3500 ( Not including a pop roof) , so yeh if you want a newish van you need to convert your self . Youll never loose on it ( im just down the road if you want to take a peek T:

·
Registered
81 Posts
if he has the time to convert it himself he will be able to get a newer van and save money paying someone else to do the work, and it can be made to the spec you want to suit camping/days out. get him on here and look through some of the threads to see what other people are doing building and buying vans. lots of good top quality own built and bought built vans. Converting it yourself is the way for me as you end up with a 1 off van to suit your own needs.

·
Registered
1,120 Posts
Convert yourself :) with all the advice / help from here. A:
Most people will happily help you out and 99% of info, can be found searching on here. Take a look through peoples build threads to gain ideas and tips & then just work to your budget.