VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Gang,
This is my first post and I am a complete van novice so be gentle with me.I have been looking for a van for a while now,I go to the TT every year and I am looking to buy a van to take my bike over there and a few other bike related trips.I had been looking at a Transit as I thought a Transporter would be out of my range(£9000 ish),but I have seen a Transporter on Vantrader for £8500 with no VAT.It is a 09 with 44k miles on it,1.9 and 85 hp.I do not want to pay VAT as I am not in the trade and I will be using it as my everyday transport so a low mileage one is what I would like. Is there any thing I should look out for,plus what is the reliability like,MPG etc.I appreciate there is a lot of questions in this post but as I said I am a novice and any advice will be appreciated.Cheers Zed.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Welcome Zed
It has to be a transporter.....
I am not an expert so will leave it to the others to comment. I have seen a fair few pics of bike carrying transporters on here so google your questions with t4 forum in the search and I am sure you will get the answers/inspiration you are looking for.
Best of luck and keep us posted!

·
Registered
3,047 Posts
Low miles will pay you back in the future, 1.9 is a Proven engine, just get it Remapped by PENDLE and you will be smiling for sure!!T:

·
Registered
425 Posts
I've had transits and vitos before - they were good - but not a patch on my t5.
I bought my t5 to convert to a camper, and I cannot get over how ruddy good it is to drive.
Light years better than both. A better vehicle to drive, and better put together.
And there's loads more info on how to improve them.
Standard van can be a bit slow and noisy, but a chip and some noise killer does wonders.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hello Gang,