VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
403 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just to set the record straight i am not a mechanic but i do an have a passion for cars/bikes any vehicles really & always enjoyed carying out maintanance/mechanicls and just genaraly looking after our vehicles anyway having carried out some work on our long standing T5 I figured it would be a good idea to replace the A/C condenser given that a few of the rows cooling fins had rotted away so looked for a replacment, OEM part was around £400, a well known car parts supplier had a Mahle OEM spec for half that price so before ordering i had a look on Ebay and found a Mahle for half price agian so ordered it.
Just landed today well packaged and a day ahead of schedule, i removed it and noticed it was curved (slightly) and offering it up into place i noticed yes it would fit but with manipulation which i didnt fancy doing on a new unit. I decided to send it back but the seller contacted me stressing in his words "that the condenser is made of soft metal and its manufactured curved & all Mahles come like it and will straigten out under heat and pressure!
I am a engineer by trade and although this comment seems a little far fetched soft metal etc it may well be true as to be fair i think this is the first condenser i think i have replaced so im asking the mechanics and other folk who have done it before does this sound right?

·
Registered
15,437 Posts
If its curved surely it wont sit sandwiched between the radiator and intercooler without fowling?
Who is degassing and regassing it all for you? This normally limits how many people wanna diy this kinda job .

·
Registered
403 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·