VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm not a mechanic I not do work for any company this is just what I've come up with

Seems a few are having airREX top mount and related issues because of this.

First of all I notice a couple of people are having problems with leaks but all their connectors are sealed. The problem is when the bus is dropped the lower ball joint is maxing out putting sideways pressure on the strut and if the top mount is loose it then allows it to move. When it's moved it puts extra pressure on edge of the top of the bag and damages the o ring seals in the top of the bag. I'd suggest replacing these 19x2mm o rings like I did which sorted this.

Top mounts

So I see some have had the new design of top mount through but are struggling to make these work. I think my bag is slightly smaller than others being from the very first design but it should help.

As you can see on the pics below my bag sits a little way down the stanction. If I was to run the supplied washer when the bus was jacked up with pressure in it I think it would over stretch the bag.

To stop this I made a sleeve

I then installed the smallest reducer for the spherical bearing. This still cleared my reducer when at its full angle

Now go ahead and fit the spherical bearing topmount and another small reducer. You want to use half nuts, I ordered these as they were a smaller profile than the supplied ones: Ebay half nut
Use an impact wrench to tighten down.
Ignore that theres 2 nuts on, I'll come to that. The top one there is actually what I deceded to run underneath

Now use another nut to lock the one off that you have just installed like the above pic.