VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I am about to attach an R-rail onto my T5 SWB with a pop top so that I can use a Caravanstore 225 awning. I plan to attach with Sikaflex and propably 4 screws along the length of the flange. The idea of screwing into clean body work scares me and something I haven't done before.

There now follows a series of numpty questions

What body prep is necessary? As I will be drilling/screwing through paint and panel is there the need for any form of sealant to stop the 'damaged' area becoming a rust point?
Any advice on the type of screws (3/4inch self tap - need for stainless/galvanized?)
Any need for a washer between flange and bodywork or will this just make things worse as it raises flange off body work?

Thanks for any advice

Stuart

·
Registered
211 Posts
Hi
I'm a newbie and not even got a van yet but I would mask the area with tape, give the surface a sand with wet n dry paper then secure with s/s self tapping screws at say 12" intervals. I would get self drilling screws and fit "dry" first of all, not fully tightening any screw. Remove and apply sealant, refix, tighten and remove tape!

Right or wrong anybody who has done this?

Tony

·
Registered
376 Posts
Hi

I am about to attach an R-rail onto my T5 SWB with a pop top so that I can use a Caravanstore 225 awning. I plan to attach with Sikaflex and propably 4 screws along the length of the flange. The idea of screwing into clean body work scares me and something I haven't done before.

There now follows a series of numpty questions

What body prep is necessary? As I will be drilling/screwing through paint and panel is there the need for any form of sealant to stop the 'damaged' area becoming a rust point?
Any advice on the type of screws (3/4inch self tap - need for stainless/galvanized?)
Any need for a washer between flange and bodywork or will this just make things worse as it raises flange off body work?