VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have access to a few sets of rear springs, all standard. they are bmw e36 , vauxhall astra G and vauxhall corsa b, i have seen a few people on here use different manufacturers spring, but am slightly confused at how much a set of standard car springs will lower a t4 by, also, whats the lowest i could wind down on the front with standard shocks? just that i havent got the money at the moment to get a decent kit, but im tired of the van being up in the clouds. oh, the wheels on it are audi 10 spokes with 205/55/r16 tyres on it.
any advice much appreciated.
thanks ed.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
ive decided i am gonna get a set of front sproings for the van, ive seen some on ebay for around £50-60 anyone have any experience of these? gonna wind the front down 50mm as well.
cheers ed.

·
Registered
926 Posts
I'm no mechanic, but if your thinking of putting 2.5 tonne of van on corsa springs, you may be getting yourself in a whole heap of trouble:*

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
yeah i know what your saying, but ive binned that idea after deciding that i wouldnt put the corsa springs on a corsa, never mind my t4. so, im stuggling to find the info on what rear springs i can use on standard shocks? im thinking 50mm will be fine but really wanna go 60mm. any info appreciated.

·
Registered
452 Posts
Like Bazlightbeer said,

I wouldn't put a van on car springs. :*

I run Eibach springs, they are expensive; however you you do get what you pay for IMHO.

As far as what springs with standard shocks.

Any van rated lowering spring will do the job I'm sure.

Like I posted above the link to JK springs will be more than upto the job, in your price range & has the option of different lowering heights to choose from all at the same price.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #9