VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to VW Transporters, so hoping for some advice on a couple of things.
Which is the best engine, a 1.9tdi or a 2.5tdi in a late 1990's T4?
Which engine are prone to more faults?
I need too drive it myself, but the 1.9tdi van i am thinking of buying smokes heavily on start up, but clears once warm (probably normal).
Likewise, the 2.5tdi van i'm told runs fine but when going up hill loses a bit of power, i know the maf sensor was replaced in April if that helps with any advice.
Hopefully non of the above faults are likely to be really expensive repairs?
The van would only have light loads used in it 95% or the time, and i'll probably only do about 500 motorway miles in a year.
Any advice from the more knowledgable members of this forum is much appreciated.

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
Go for the 2.5tdi. When they say "loses power on the hills", how much power do they mean? If it drops from 75-80mph to 65mph on a really steep hill, thats pretty normal. Its 2.5 tonnes of van, you cant expect it to pull like a car.
If the 2.5 is in a good a condition as the 1.9, then i would take the 2.5 every time.

·
Registered
233 Posts
ill agree with andy on that 1.9d is very sluggish from factory but if its a tdi conversion then its the best way to go mine has a tdi fitted and she flies everywhere up or down hill :D:D:D:D

·
Registered
39 Posts
i have a 2.5 888 special pall like a train and does 39 to 42 mpg if it was me i would go for the 2.5 so long as you keep it serviced and look after it all the best with finding a good one and take your time in finding one not like me jump in head first then cost a lot to put right ok now best van i have ever had T:T:T:A:

·
Registered
1,070 Posts
. Its 2.5 tonnes of van, you cant expect it to pull like a car.
a swb unlaiden with a driver is between 1600 and 1700 kg so they aint much more than a car mate,