VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I am new to T4 ownership and this forum.

I have a 1997 2.4L T4 and since I bought it it has been smelling a bit after starting. As I set off fairly quickly after starting up I initially thought it was brakes binding. It turns out it was the connection to the glowplug relay getting hot.

So it won't start now and I intend to have another look tomorrow, I haven't checked the fuse under the bonnet but will do.

If the fuse is gone then that is great but it will probably only start burning wires and my new relay if I replace it. The previous owner gave me a new relay with the van!?

I have printed the useful looking artical about relays and 109's and will stab around with my multimeter.

I am fairly good with a spanner but electrics confuse me once we get away from; wires switches and bulbs.

To get it going I am thinking about hot wiring from battery to glow plugs and then I wonder if I have power to the injector pump cut off so i am thinking of hot wiring to that as well.

But I note a discussion about the ECU controlling the fuel pump? Surely not? I would have thought if the engine is turning and fuel is getting in it is going to run?

Not a great first posting I know. Would have been so nice to be telling you about how great I am with all things electrical.

Thanks

Phil,

·
Registered
10,602 Posts
Hi Phil, you have a 2.4 which doesn't have an ecu or relay 109 so you can disregard all that stuff. You will need to replace the fuse box if the relay contacts have been burned.

·
Registered
2,272 Posts
Just had a butcher's at my 1995 T4 Velle 2.4D. As Upspex said, no relay 109. There is a Relay 102 and a 99, maybe some of these are similar to relay 109.