VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know a lot depends on service history and type of miles etc.. etc..
But how long if looked after will the engine likely go for? my T4 which i'll be p/x ing is at 202000 and still going strong
Got a few vans in my sights ranging from 100k to 130k the 130k is newer - 07 but the 100 is 04 plate..
Any advice / things to be aware of?

Thanks!

·
Registered
606 Posts
I used to worry about mileage and the dreaded 100,000 mark. That is until earlier this week I got into a van transfering me from the airport, I happened to glance at the mileage which said 214,000 miles... :)

It seemed to run fine, definitely not knackered, still comfy T:

Does the 2007 van have the canbus system with the later model updates, new steering wheel etc? this might influence your decision

·
Registered
329 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No idea, im completely new to T5's
I have had a read of the T5 wiki page, but it didnt have any details about changes at 07
I have however just found out that the 07 van is the 85ps and im only interested in the 102, so that rules it out now, but i am still looking around, so interested in any tips etc..

I used to worry about mileage and the dreaded 100,000 mark. That is until earlier this week I got into a van transfering me from the airport, I happened to glance at the mileage which said 214,000 miles... :)

It seemed to run fine, definitely not knackered, still comfy T:

Does the 2007 van have the canbus system with the later model updates, new steering wheel etc? this might influence your decision

·
Cornwall Massive
2,838 Posts
2007-on seems to have some of the early problems more sorted out... As you say, Service history and condition are absolutely key - if it looks unloved, it probably was... :ILU:

·
Registered
606 Posts