VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a newbie I thought I should start here.

Had a near miss today after a puncture on the nearside rear of our 54 plate Velle. I had tested the jack on our drive when we got the van and it seemed easy to use. Problem is when the tyre is flat it is far from being straight forward. The van was empty too. I see someone on facebook calls this type of jack a widow maker and I think I would agree with them. Fortunately when the jack moved the old wheel was still bolted on as I was unloading the spare. Only damage is a dent on my perfect sills agh! agh! Borrowed a trolley jack from a nearby farm and managed to change OK. That was when the rain stopped. (please don't laugh) I now see the later T5s have a full scissor type jack. Is this worth having or would I be better buying a proper 2 tonne bottle jack and making a saddle adaptor to fit the jacking point?

Any advice would be welcome.

I still love the van though. With the 174 engine it is a joy on long runs.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Hi, I too have an 04 caravelle and same thing happened with the jack damaging the sill. Managed to get jack out and changed wheel with trolley jack. Now carry range rover classic hydraulic jack. Thankfully not needed it yet.

·
Registered
7,548 Posts
and managed to change OK. That was when the rain stopped. (please don't laugh)

LOL:LOL:LOL: what us - on here laugh - never.

If you have the room to carry it a small trolley jack will, IMHO be better (& useful for other things). Often, you will need a plate of some sort to put under a bottle jack if the surface is unstable or rough - a trolly jack spreads the weigh a little better plus you have the "cup" which is easier to place than the small top of a bottle jack.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·