VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm a bit of a rookie at this, my old man knows what he is doing but I'm just trying to get some info.

I was driving home last night and the clutch just stayed on the floor when I changed gears, up until then it was only engaging really close to the floor so I knew something was amis.
This morning I looked at it and you can pull the pedal up and it stays up but when you push it down it stays on the floor.

I have read that the master cylinder is in the clutch assembly so I'm guessing that I'm up for putting in a whole new clutch, or is there some better news this close to christmas...

Thanks in advance for any replies, happy holidays.

Will.

*<:)>

·
Registered
11,100 Posts
depending on year there is a clutch slave cylinder at the bottom of the pedal,if the pedal box has suffered the dreaded pedal box failure and cracked,this can cause the slave cylinder to leak,worth a check T:

·
Pedal box guru
2,616 Posts
Hi,

Check your brake fluid level! The clutch uses the same reservoir, but it's take off point is higher than the brake take off point . So the clutch will always fail. From lack of fluid before the brakes fail!!

There is a very strong helper spring to help you press the pedal .( the return spring is tiny by comparison) the symptoms you describe are pointing to air in the system either from a leak or low fluid level!

Which side of the road do you drive on? The clutch pedal box problem only affects right hand drive vehicles!

Cheers Trev.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks for the replies guys.

The fluid level was fine and the pedal box must have been welded up by previous owners.
We took out the bleeder at the top and pushed the pedal in and out and didn't get a steady flow of fluid so the master cylinder is out and off to get re-sleeved, hopefully before christmas...