VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the T4 world, and i'm willing to learn everything that I need to maintain my new (19 year old) T4 panel van.

I picked up a 1998 1.9TD Panel van yesterday. Drove 250 miles after picking it up with no issues. 5 minutes from home the coolant light started flashing. I waited for it to cool down and topped up the tank with coolant.I have looked again today and have found a drip coming from the spindle(?) that pumps the water around the engine. Other than leak stop, what do i need to replace to stop this from happening?

Pics will follow if it helps?:*

·
Registered
3,877 Posts
New water pump, the shaft seals are failing, if its gone that far its extremely hard to believe the seller didnt know about it btw.

Hopefully it hasnt had knock on effects, like repeated overheating killing the head gasket.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've just ordered the new pump. Luckily the van doesn't need to go anywhere, so I'm going to put some radweld in tonight and await the arrival of the water pump!

Thanks for your help @mindriot.

·
Registered
3,877 Posts
I once bought a passat at auction, it quickly started dong the same as in dropping coolant and overheating, initially thinking it was head gasket I put in some of the usual rubbish that rarely works, all it did was leave a stain that proved it was the pump shaft leaking. I then changed the pump, to discover that I really did also have a failing head gasket.

I assume you checked the leak wasnt coming from anywhere else?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes ive had a look to check as thoroughly as i can. I'm going to hold off on the radweld as I'm pretty sure it's just a busted water pump.

Luckily, the engine bay is filthy so any leaks are obvious because they leave clean patches!!

Also, the loud squeal that happens for 10 seconds on starting the engine is water pump related as well I believe?