VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at a set of curtains for my T5 and have seen various reviews on different suppliers here. I need one pair for side windows and a pair for the barn doors.
Having been given a price locally (£290-300 to supply and fit) I am looking to have a go fitting them myself. I want the full blackout type and it looks like my choice is from Van-X £120, Kiravans £131, Just Kampers £127. From what I have read, the Van-X seem to be better quality but would need to be bent to shape and drilled whereas the others are pre bent and the holes pre drilled. Just wondering how much of a difference this is likely to make to the installation bearing in mind I am a novice! If it requires too much in the way of DIY skills then I may have to get it done properly.
Would be interested to hear your experiences of the ease of installing these different brands and also the differing quality of the rails and curtains (eg material quality and how 'blackout' are they).
I have also noted some dissatisfaction with the quality of parts and the lack of after sales care from Van-X.
Thanks in hope.

·
Registered
80 Posts
I just fitted some van-x ones, and I'm no expert. Was pretty straight forward, there was a bit of head scratching but just looking at pictures of how people have fitted them helped. I am still pondering where to put the bottom rail on the tailgate, as my van doesn't have a rear wiper so there's an awkward shape where the wiper motor would go.