VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Have done a bit of research into the fumes in the cab and dash engine light = blocked EGR.
So 1st question: Has anyone ever used the ALLARD Electronic EGR Valve Delete Pipe VW T5 Van Transporter 2.5 Tdi +before?
2nd question: what do you do with the left over electrical leads?
3rd and final question: is it easy to do? (I'm a bricky by trade lol):*

·
Registered
1,883 Posts
Exhaust fumes in the cab can also be a sign of a cracked exhaust manifold on the 2.5 engines. It's quite common apparently.
I'd get one of Pendle Performance's agents near to you to "switch off" the EGR valve electronically rather than removing/replacing parts, personally.

·
Registered
332 Posts
I've used the Alard EGR Delete, but my EGR wasn't electronic, 2005 2.5

But it was simples on mine! came with instructions that were simples

·
Pedal box guru
2,616 Posts
Hi,
Here's my two penny's worth,

I've just been down this route with my caddy, except that I had already bought the pipe as no one has any experience with my engine set up.

The EGR valve system has changed quite considerably since T4 generation And early T5 vw vehicles. The EGR system now almost certainly has got a EGR cooler .

You cannot remove the EGR valve without doing something about the cooler. ( the cooler leaking exhaust gas was the reason I went down the EGR removal/ delete route ) and the cooling system that is also attached to it.

The modern generation EGR valve has almost no restriction to airflow. The main restriction in the system is not the EGR valve but the anti shudder valve! The anti shudder valve is an important component in a modern diesel engine especially when the engine is shutting down.