VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

Devon Workshop Meets

4K views 41 replies 15 participants last post by  ChrisW 
#1 ·
Due to the positive response I have had to the idea I have decided to start a dedicated thread to getting the East Devon VW workshop meets up and running.

Just in case you missed the original posts in the general sections of the forum here is a little recap on the ideals of a local workshop group.
We will be meeting every few weeks to work on someone's van doing anything from annual servicing through to pop top fitting. Should be a great opportunity to learn some new skills and impart some skills on others. By trade I am a joiner but pretty mechanically minded too. I should specify you don't have to be amazingly practical for this (always need someone to do the bbq and make sure everyone has a drink). I'm happy to provide the venue as I have a full joinery workshop at home.
There would be no overly formal joining fee etc just a goodwill gesture that if it's your van receiving a dose of tlc from the group you buy the steaks for the bbq and a box of beers. I will always advertise what job we will be doing and on what van well in advance so if you want to come along just for a few pointers you can. I will also be trying to arrange for professional's to come in and do pro's fitting tips and demo's for particular products, Martyn (upspex) from travel volts has already said he would be up for this if there is demandT:T:.

I will try to prioritise jobs appropriately by taking into account how much demand there is for people to do a particular job, how desperate the job is (ie fault making van unsafe, mot failiure etc) and lastly how much time the van owner gives to the group.

If your interested in coming to the workshop meets to learn, teach, help or just to cook some steak baguettes (there will be a steak baguette leader board) then I need a bit of info from you please......

Type of van
Type of engine
Problems that the van has