VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Really need some help / advice.

I've just had my 3rd gearbox replacement in 18 months & the only thing my mechanic thinks it could be is the wheels I ride on as both times 5th gear has been shredded when taken apart!

It's a year 2000 caravelle longnose.

I've got 245/45/18 on.

Do I change my lovely Borbets to a 15" option? Or just the profile to 235/40/18 to match the original rolling radius?

Anyone ever heard of this problem before?

Help!!
Cheers

·
Registered
6,655 Posts
I've been running 18s for the last 5 years on the 45 profile with no gearbox issues pal.....I'd suggest the problem lies elsewhere

·
Registered
794 Posts
Your tyres give you 4.5% more distance per rotation than stock 205/65/R15. So effectively you're slightly higher-geared than before, but the effect is pretty small and hardly enough to shred a gearbox.

On the other hand, have you had the engine uprated... that could be a bigger issue?

·
Registered
449 Posts
how can wheels damage a gearbox :confused:
never heard of it, heavy handed light footed gear changes maybe but wheels I:

·
Registered
6,655 Posts
Your tyres give you 4.5% more distance per rotation than stock 205/65/R15. So effectively yoe slightly higher-geared than be, but the effect is pretty small and hardly enough to shred a gearbox.

On the other hand, have you had the engine uprated... that could be a bigger issue?
I'm running 160bhp with 18" wheels....I had clutch issues to start with but after fitting an updated Sachs clutch ive had no more issues and non with the box

·
Registered
95 Posts
What clutch are you running? Dual mass or solid?
I've been told by a mechanic friend that VW fitted dmf's to stop the engines shaking the gearbox to pieces.
I don't know how true this is, but they must've fitted them for some reason....

·
Registered
6,154 Posts
What clutch are you running? Dual mass or solid?