VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just wondering if anyone has created a guide to replacing the droplinks on a t5? Need to do mine I think. Its a 1.9TDi T30. Can here a clunk when going slow over bumps. Just had the drive shaft replaced so pretty sure its not that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm a newbie to this but generally pretty handy.

from what I understand this is how it goes.

-Jack up and put on axel stands
-Remove wheel
-unbolt the old one put an allen key/torx drive in the middle if it starts to spin
-remove old one
-pull bushes off the rod?
-replace bushes (use wd40 to slide on)
-Bolt new one in place
-wheel back on
-then same other side

not really sure about how removing and replacing the bushes goes?

·
Registered
527 Posts
As above /\ but....

I'm a newbie to this but generally pretty handy.

from what I understand this is how it goes.

-Jack up and put on axel stands
-Remove wheel
-unbolt the old one put an allen key/torx drive in the middle if it starts to spin BUY AN ANGLE GRINDER WITH A CUTTING DISC AND SAVE LOTS OF MESSING ABOUT-remove old one
-pull bushes off the rod?
-replace bushes (use wd40 to slide on)
-Bolt new one in place
-wheel back on
-then same other side

not really sure about how removing and replacing the bushes goes?

Not sure on the bush comment as mine didnt have any????

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Will take your advice on the angle grinder!

how long do you think it will take to do the two sides?

Thanks

·
Registered
527 Posts
If all is 100% easy to remove then 30/45 mins a side from jack up to jack down. Took me roughly 3 hours, that was trying to drill off, waiting for wifes car, driving to B&Q to buy a grinder, cutting the sodding rusty piece of off, fitting new ones with silicoset in the new allen key hole and finishing off....ooeer!

·
Registered
2,129 Posts