VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a newbie van owner and I've not posted anything on here worthy yet so I apologise if this is the wrong place to put this but I thought that I should share my very slow van story with you in case it can help anyone else.

The van was slow up hills and seemed to lack in power but started first time everytime.
I changed all the vacuum hoses, blanked the EGR, replaced the intake manifold and its o ring and carried out the cage mod. Still it was slow. I unplugged the MAF sensorand the van ran better so figured that must be the culprit.

Final try before shelling out on a new MAF I discovered that on top of the fuse box above the relays there should be 2 blue 15 amp fuses on their sides. My '02 Caravelle only had 1 in and the other space was empty. I put one in to see if anything changed and woosh! Full speed ahead! Its like a different van A:

Does anyone know what they are for?

However, now the van struggles to start first time. It takes 3 or 4 tries and makes a terrible gear crunching starter motor sound and then it sounds like somethings come off! :(When it does start its great!!:D

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

·
Registered
209 Posts
I have no info on fuses or crunching noise im afraid :( just need to ask how u found taking the inlet manifold off?? I want to clean mine out from the egr gunk as I've removed egr valve now? I:

·
Registered
423 Posts

got this from another thread, any use?

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
Thinking the picture is good -- Suspect its the two blue fuses up top left just above the lime labels for "KL15A" The fuses are fitted in an area that is frequently shown to be for relays so !!!

Unfortunately the handbook extracts are not so much use, it only seems to describe a bog standard installation, and even the most basic van is unlikely to conform to the handbooks suggested locations for fuse strips.