VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Morning guys.
I've decided to do the roof and side panels with Harrison's thermolining but I'm unsure how to go about doing the floor?
Can I use the same stuff or is there something different I should be using?
I'm a novice at all this so need some pointers and probably a step by step guide.
I'm wanting to transform the builders van in to a surf van/camper van.
Cheers

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
Never heard of thermolining so couldn't give advice on that! The normal procedure for the floor would be to either put the floor ply directly over the cargo floor or battern out the floor with 1 inch timber using grip fill. This would then be insulated in between if you feel the need ( I did). Then screw your ply floor too the batterns!
If you do this you will need to lift the plastic side door step up also.

Depends on what you want to use the van for as to wether you need to insulate the floorT:

T4 life has good pictures on Facebook of customers vans during all stages of conversion! Good for making sure your on the right trackT:

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
Forgot to add, I used 25mm king span insulation between the floor batterns and they where no more than 300mm between each batternT:

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the reply.
I'll be wanting to sleep in the van at some point and just got it in my head it'll need insulating as well, hopefully it'll make it more warmer in the colder months.
I'll take a look on FB, cheers

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
It definitely makes it warmer on the cold nights. We use our van all through the year so was worth going that bit extra for not much cost. The same reason I used carpet on the floor rather than Lino! I'd rather not be bare footed of a night and putting my feet onto a cold floor in winterT:

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·