VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

Pretty new to vans and general mechanickery in general, so would appreciate some help!

The picture shows my fuel filter and the lines going to it. The van wont start without easy start, and I can sometimes see air bubbles in the clear (return?) line, so I'm assuming it's not getting the pressure it needs to get going.
(Glow plugs are another possibility, they take a gregorian calendar week to prime on ignition, but one thing at a time!)

Replacing the filter is simple enough, so no problem there!

I need to get some hose, can anyone help with what size?

Also, what is the connector that goes from the black hoses to the blue/clear hoses? Is the black hose easily replaceable?
Is there an easier way?

I'll take any advice anyone can give me, like I said I'm new to all this so I'll soak up any info anyone throws at me!

Thanks all!

VW T4 1996 2.4d AAB

·
Premium Member
66 Posts
When was that filter last changed, it's nearly fossilised...

All pipes & hoses are 8mm and there usually enough loose pipe to pull and shorten a bit, they aren't so easy to replace as the crimped fitting has to be cut off not easy down where they are although on your's theres no ECU or ABS unit in the way.

Seeing the odd bubble shouldn't stop it starting unless its running back to the tank, check the injector return rubber tubes a common problem and the end one which is a blank.

The small 3mm white pipe for a diesel heater, is that connected to the heater pump or correctly as that can also be a problem although it usually leaks fuel if a problem.

BUT the 2.4D will not start from cold without glow plugs!... and the cold start lever pulled, is it connected?

·
Valve Lifter
115 Posts
For the record I've never had to pull my cold start lever - it's always been a good easy starter.
I'd be interested to know whether this is common?