VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm a brand new newbie here. Just bought a 2001 Caravelle from a dealer. Very nice condition, drives beautifully but I was a bit sad to find out that it must be a very bog standard van. No central locking, no driver's airbag.
The cambelt was changed at 77, its now on 102, however, if you look very carefully in the service book you can see that where it says cambelt, the no box was ticked then tippexed out and the yes box ticked in a different pen. It may have been changed and a genuine mistake made but I'm a tad worried. Also, the engine number has been rubbed away off the sticker on the cambelt cover.
Call me paranoid but I'm wondering if it's had a different engine put in at some point, although there's no mention of it in the FSH.
My question is - How can I check if the engine matches the original? Is there a stamped engine number somewhere? I'm getting a VAG-com and cable for PC. Will this allow me to interrogate the ECU for the engine number?
Thanks for any help.
Andrew

·
Banned
10,255 Posts
Get in touch with Volkswagen where it came from originally and ask them if they can shed some light, if you don't know the supplying dealer contact them any how, I've generally found them very helpful when trying to trace stuff in the past. As regards the ECU I don't know but am sure someone here will have the answer to that one. Good luck...

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I thought my 99 velle didn't have central locking, until I was checking the fuses, found a blown one and replaced it. The locks started bobbing up and downT:

Had to sort out some broken wires in the door bellows and some dodgy contacts but it all works now.

Look for fuse no. 10 on the very bottom row of fuses. 15A one.