VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everybody,
Newbie here in the realm of T4s, but a VW lover(Golfs for the last 7 years). Stoked to be a part of the community. T:

Our family is expanding with our second baby on the way, and we're very keen on getting a T4 Caravelle 7 or 8 seater because we need the space and have dreams of family road tripping in Europe someday. I also surf, as does my brother in law, so that is a plus. ;) I grew up doing family road trips all over America's west coast as my father personally designed and custom converted a 15 passenger Dodge 4x4 van into a sweet camper, so I'd love to do the same with my family.

As of now we don't yet own a T4, but I'm looking at a T4 Caravelle that's a 2.4D 8 seater with 230,000 miles on it for around £2900. I know the 2.4D engines are built to last, but what would your take be on one with that mileage? Recon engines run around £2800, or at least what I saw, and just wondered if it would be better to look for a T4 with less miles in the first place.
Looking forward to hearing your wise words! :)

-CW

·
Registered
518 Posts
dont worry about mileage,ive just bought a caravelle with 32000 on it oringinal engine.it runs perfect.im sure we will get higher mileage on here.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Mine has done 230000 and it runs perfectly.

The 2.4D will really struggle on hills when loaded up - the seats on their own are quite heavy.

£2900 is a good price, is it a 96?

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hey thanks guys, for the advice so far and the welcome!

So mileage is pretty irrelevant I suppose, which is kinda what I thought. The only other thing that 'worries' me about the van is that is has no service history and a bit of rust.