VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys and girls,
im Jason, i live in australia and currently drive a subaru impreza.

I am currently on the hunt for a VW transporter, However i have no experience with VW's what so ever, and am asking you people to give me the low down

I am after a panel van transporter, or one with NO bolt holes for rear seats,
The van will be used as a promotional audio car, aswell as being my daily driver.
The audio equipment will end up weighing in at about 500kg (possibly more), so i am after a 2.4 or 2.5L.

Will someone give me a few tips on what i should look for/avoid ???

for example, i heard the RWD versions are just trouble.
Also that i should go for a manual as if the auto breaks, it also costs to much to repair.

so what year models should i look for? what should i avoid ?

I have about $10,000AU, that might not mean much to you guys, but it will generally get me a 1995 - 2000 model transporter
All i really want is for it to be mechanically reliable.

Please reply people

thanks

jason

·
Premium Member
8,089 Posts
welcome to the forum, I am not sure what versions are available downunder, but they didn't actually do a RWD, they did a syncro 4x4, but i believe that can be a little un-economical.

They are all pretty reliable, the 2.5 tdi is a little more to service, but returns better performance and better economy than the 1.9tdi. I hear the 2.4 diesel is a little under powered.

The 2.0 petrol is a little under powered, the 2.5 petrol is a little thirsty, and the VR6 petrol is a nice engine but only comes in an auto which you are correct is saying are less reliable than the manual.

10,000 AUD is about £5000 which can get you most T4 panel vans here in the UK, but i expect aussie prices will be a fair bit higher.

Have you seen any yet?

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hey mate, thanks for the quick reply!
Apparently there is RWD version in australia.