VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have been working on our new van as a complete newbie for a little over a week now, on and off.
Must admit, when I first saw the inside of van, I thought the carpetting was a common sense way of keeping the noise out, warmth in and taking the bareness off the bare painted chassis.
When I really started to look at the rain leaking in I found..

As you can see, whoever converted the van has gone a little crazy with the carpet preventing parts of the van which are supposed to close bare painted steel to rubber seal as carpet on rubber and this van is proof, it doesn't keep the van watertight.
This a problem on the rear two doors too - took the carpet off and hey presto! no more door leaks!
I do have the issue now, where I have to remove every last scrap of evo-stick so the sealing face is presentable again but that is a different matter.

·
Registered
5,259 Posts
ve to admit i dont like to see paintwork in the camper , i have carpeted everything , but its 2 tone grey/camel so doesnt look over the top . for the sliding door i got hold of a caravelle panel and window surround that stops at the right point to keep the door seals . im am now after a set of plastics for my rear barn doors , but they seem to be like hens teeth !

·
Registered
365 Posts
Have been working on our new van as a complete newbie for a little over a week now, on and off.
Must admit, when I first saw the inside of van, I thought the carpetting was a common sense way of keeping the noise out, warmth in and taking the bareness off the bare painted chassis.
When I really started to look at the rain leaking in I found..

As you can see, whoever converted the van has gone a little crazy with the carpet preventing parts of the van which are supposed to close bare painted steel to rubber seal as carpet on rubber and this van is proof, it doesn't keep the van watertight.