VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just planning ahead, as the van i am looking at doesn't come with a RnR bed, the layout at the mo will be fine for us for now but the wife wants a second sprog and at that point we will need a rnr bed with seat belts, and the only option is one which has had a seat belt anchorage pull test (my day job is witnessing testing like SBA tests and issuing European approvals) however my question is how d te approved RnR beds actually secure into the van? As the few sites I have looked on say they are tested it make no mention of how to actually fit them? Ie bolted direct to the floor? On tracking? And if so which tracking? And how is that trackin fitted to the van? As I have seen tracking fail before due to not enough bolts and bolts through the van floor with no spreaders on the other side etc..

Any one have any pics or fitting instructions for a bed they have fitted?

Cheers

Karl

·
Premium Member
3,715 Posts
some info in technical section

http://www.vwt4forum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=32918

my T4 'velle rear 3 seat ( not a bed seat as per multivan ) is held in with 4 bolts to plates under the van, but where the seat belts mount to the body sides ( more info in technical section about this ) but I don't know if those 4 bolts would be sufficient for seat and belt mounts

cant comment on the rails for Multivan / later T4's I'm afraid

·
Registered
181 Posts
On t4's we (smartbeds) have a big spreader plate on the back and more on the front, can't remember sizes off hand but roughly 500x200x6mm so pretty substantial

Feel free to drop us an email and I can provide a picture if you wanted :)

·
Premium Member
583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Tom,