VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be doing a conversion soon with an extremely small budget and what i have been trying to figure out the most is a way of saving money on a bed. Most rock n roll beds are going to be no less than £400 once fully upholstered.
A standard uk single bed is 91cm in width which is more than enough for me so i've been looking for a cheaper alternative.
I found a small pull out "chair-bed" from ikea which i think could be perfect, the assembly instruction show what the frame is like and it comes with the mattress and covers. And is only £160. I'm sure it could be bolted to the floor like any other rock n roll bed and i'm aware it won't be top quality...

http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/products/S79839996/#/S19839999

I'd love to hear your views on this chair/bed as i am a complete novice with conversions so far:)

·
Registered
308 Posts
no offence but that ikea looks pants in my opinion.. keep your eye on ebay or build one to your own spec.. a challenge is always goodT:

·
Registered
2 Posts
A metal frame Futon would be a good cheap option, especially a 2nd hand jobbie. If you or someone you know has a welding capability, it shouldn't be too difficult to fabricate seat/lap belt anchor points. check out Gumtree or Ebay for your area. Hope this helps :)

·
Registered
136 Posts
A metal frame Futon would be a good cheap option, especially a 2nd hand jobbie. If you or someone you know has a welding capability, it shouldn't be too difficult to fabricate seat/lap belt anchor points. check out Gumtree or Ebay for your area. Hope this helps :)