VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to the world of T5 and in desperate need of advice before I buy the wrong thing and have to sell it immediately to pay for the ensuing divorce!

Ideally I need an LWB auto T5 with many of the caravelles features but it seems that the LWB caravelles are as rare as hens teeth and way out of my price range. So Im looking at ways of converting a shuttle or any other suggestions?

Basically Im looking for a comfortable quiet 5 or 6 seat family car that can become a van or weekend vehicle to sleep 4
I also do a lot of mountainbike racing so at least 2 adults need to be able to sleep in the van, with our bikes inside too, for security. I have a budget of £12,500 and the most I have ever spent on a car before is £4000 So I cant tell you how hard its been to persuade my wife to agree to parting with so much money for a my new toy.

In a perfect world this is my shopping list;-
LWB auto diesel. 130 0r 174
Seats on rails to slide backwards and forwards or be easily removed
Windows all round, and with opening window on the sliding doors but manual doors are fine.
Ideally 2 or even better 3 seats in front with driver seat able to rotate round, but is it possible to get either a double passenger seat to also rotate, or remove central passenger seat at front so 2 front seats can spin round?
Decent size folding table ( which im happy to make) so at least 5 can sit round it eating or playing cards etc
Quiet and comfortable on motorways-can I add dynomat beneath shuttle body panels to achieve as good or better sound proofing than caravelle?
pop top roof for additional sleeping

Is it possible to buy and fit caravelle seats and sliders that can become a bed, to a lower spec lwb vehicle, add a pop top roof and do the 40mm lowering etc?
Also is it cost effective or am I better off buying a swb caravelle and losing that extra 400mm of space?