VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Its fine, but will only relay the existing wifi signal. and if there is wifi on the outside of the van from somewhere else then there will be wifi in the van. As an IT consultant I personally dont see how this would be any help. What happens when you park at a campsite and there is no WiFi? Also the fact that it hides the SSID for your internal network if fairly pointless. Sorry to be down on it, but dont want anyone to waste money! If the signal is poor between the source and your van, this device wont magically make it any stronger. It will simply give you a strong signal from your laptop to it. The signal between the source and this antenna, will still be poor. If you think about it, how can it possibly boost the signal from somebodys cruddy home router? Hope that helps.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Not used this system but...
The system will give you a 'better than the one in the lid of your laptop' antenna that you mount on the outside of your van, ideally visible above the roofline so it's more likely to catch some signal from the local WIFI provider (campsite, coffee shop, unsecured network of some local household etc). Perhaps even have it on some sort of movable pole so you can find a decent signal (ever had to put your ear against a window to make a mobile phone call).
Also you should see a better connection through the provided external antenna as your iThing/Laptop/whatever may well be inside the van and radio signals dont like metal boxes, but it won't magic up a WIFI network where there's none.