VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

My name's Jemima and I'm living in West Cork, Ireland.

I just became the proud and dauntless owner of a 2000 T4, which I have lovingly named "Rusty". Pictures to follow although anyone reading this before I get the pics together can make a wild guess as to why!!

Yup, shes a rust bucket... I actually found this forum while I was looking up rust repair and came across someones thread entitled "Rust bucket of doom"...Dude, that rust problem pales in comparison....but apart from that she needs a new exhaust, a new rear door and boot catch and some good old fashioned T.L.C.... I think...

This is my first time taking on anything like this but she was incredibly cheap and I felt it was worth it...Or I am completely mad and its a hopeless case... Either way I'll have fun trying...

Looking forward to meeting you all on the forum and learning how to strip 'er down and polish her up during this journey! Expect plenty of questions from this corner!!

·
Premium Member
1,816 Posts
Welcome aboard Jemima, always good to restore one of these and save it from the scrap heap. Will be a enjoyable and frustrating journey but well worth it. Look forward to seeing your progress (y)

·
Full of Cr*p....
8,336 Posts
Buy yourself some good overalls, with deep pockets. :whistle:

"Little" jobs always end up "big" jobs, but if you can do the work, it's VERY satisfying at the end.

Good luck with your project.(y)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Hey guys,
Thanks so much for the warm words of welcome and encouragement!
I'll put these in the show off/progress forum too but as promised, here is Rusty's debut photo shoot!

So there's plenty to do... First I'm going to strip out the entire interior and give it all a good clean...already started wit the bulkhead and the paneling... Then start dealing with the rust spots inside.
Anyone got a spare boot catch?

Attachments

·