VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a reasonably competent amatuer mechanic, so I like to fix things. I bought a 1999 T4 that had been converted to a camper a few years ago, it was in a reasonable condition, but needed some welding & a few minor repairs. From the start I noticed that you could only adjust the heater control at the valve under the bonnet. Somebody told me that the bracket breaks behind the control switch in the dashboard. So I purchased a new brass one, when I came to fit it, the existing one was ok, but the cable was not sitting in its clip, so the whole cable would move back & forwards instead of just the inner. Easy fix I thought and put it all back together. Checked that it was working ok & turned on the blower. It was ok for a couple of seconds, then there was a huge clunk & the fan started making a very loud rumbling noise. I diagnosed bearing problems in the fan motor & took the (newly fitted that morning) pollen filter out to access the motor from under the bonnet. Then I found the problem, in my haste to fit the new filter I had neglected to check inside it. The installation instructions had been inserted into the filter & the fan had sucked them in so that they were hard up against the inlet. A real rookie mistake that was easily rectified, without causing any damage, other than to my ego. Still picking bits of shredded instructions out of my beard as I write though.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hi Steve
I’ve got the same problem. I’ve been leaving the control panel loose so I can adjust the heater by feeling behind and pulling or pushing the cable manually. Where did your brass one come from? Are you happy with it now? the plastic fittings are so weak they are bound to give up as the cable gets older and harder to slide. I was even thinking of drilling a hole in the panel below the controls to house a different kind of cable pull gadget. I would welcome your response.

·
Registered