VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend is giving me a Borg Warner KKK24 turbo of his 94 Audi S2. As my next step is the PP2 Performance jets and intercooler and remap i thought i might be able to put the turbo on my T4 too (Y reg 2.5 tdi 88bhp). Can anyone see an issue with this? Cant see why a petrol engined turbo wouldnt go on as basically its just a compressor...plus theyre both 5 cylinder engines.
Im not a mechanic so i may have got it all wrong,,,therefore if anyone is in the know please enlighten me. Thanks in advance...
Dan.

·
Registered
823 Posts
You'd want to make sure the wastegate will open at the correct pressure and that the turbine can take the diesel exhaust gas temps. I'm no expert however.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
can wastegate pressure be adjusted manually? Again no expert by far but i think its just a case of winding the nut back and forth on the actuator rod...
So, is there a difference then in diesel/petrol turbo's temperature wise??

·
Premium Member
3,775 Posts
The K24 from the AUDI is a 4 bolt flange on it so won't fit the ACV Manifold I:

it will fit the 4 bolt Volvo V70 or Audi AEL Manifold T:

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Cheers for the advice people! With it not fitting the manifold i might give it a miss...ah well. While were on the subject though, what is the commonly used turbo for an upgrade on T4's? As in one that just bolts straight on with no complications but with significant power gains?

·
Premium Member
3,775 Posts
Cheers for the advice people! With it not fitting the manifold i might give it a miss...ah well. While were on the subject though, what is the commonly used turbo for an upgrade on T4's? As in one that just bolts straight on with no complications but with significant power gains?
Hybrid K14 is a common one T:

Your limited with the 3 bolt manifold inless you make a 4 bolt adaptor

·
Registered
59 Posts