VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner
21 - 40 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
I have changed the above post. Due to the films werent correct. You need to hold on to the pins when back probing and measuring voltage dropps.
Here is a video on voltage drop testing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
@Orchid70 I have attached the label file for the AVT engine in German. Essentially, VCDS records and displays data field labels that are a best guess unless there is a label file loaded. The label file attached is for my ECU type 023 096 033. This number appears when you connect VCDS to the engine and it is running. VCDS then looks in the root folder C:\Ross-Tech\VCDS-Lite\Labels to find a matching label file, if it is present it uses these labels above the data fields and it also contains the expected min/max values for each field when you hover over the data field box. The English version and I presume Swedish version does not contain an English file for this ECU / engine (AVT). But the German one does. I find it much more helpful to have the proper labels for diagnostics. You would need to place this file in the folder 'Labels' in your PC (Open it in Notepad first to ensure its not corrupted). I can see from your screen grabs that you do not have the correct label file as it says in the top left of the VCDS window 'Label file: REDIR FAIL!'. It should say 023 096 033 (If you have the same ECU/engine as me, and you have the correct folder architecture on your VCDS install and you have the label file in the labels folder. Just a small note, I had to remove the -AVT part of the filename else it wouldn't work on VCDS lite (registered).
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
191904


As an example from my english VCDS with the german label file loaded. It names the sensors (G28 etc.) EDIT: although having said all this, this screenshot is reporting my air temp (G70) to be 85.5!! maybe therein is the issue with either my van or the ECU!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
View attachment 191904

As an example from my english VCDS with the german label file loaded. It names the sensors (G28 etc.) EDIT: although having said all this, this screenshot is reporting my air temp (G70) to be 85.5!! maybe therein is the issue with either my van or the ECU!

I have been pointed to the direction of MAF sensor actually!!
And that was what I was going to look at today - its been raining for days now and is so, today too. Van is standing outdoors.
I dint know about that lable file at all!
Thank you ever so much. Ill get back to here when I know more how the MAF is behaving.

Here is a link to a usfull help (hope its ok to link to VWVortex):

I have a problem in: Short term fuel trim is removing fuel / engine is running rich. (Group 033 or 001 block 3) It can be seen in the 14 minute video above, where my Windows Desktop and VCDS screen are shown.
How is yours behaving?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
Laurence91 - how is it going?

I have deleted this post - due to learning that you cannot measrue voltage drop on the sensor!
See next post for good help to test sensors.
I have done it will, make a new post....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
And:

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
So - after learning a bit more......
This is a good video from Pico:

Yesterday I did my own brakeout leads...
P1090104.JPG


I used 1 volt on channel 1
2 volts on channel 2
I only got fault code once instead of 5-10 times during warm up.
It happened around 45 Celsius. During idle. Picture of that included.
My resistance on the right.
192295


Some pictures from the connector.
Yellow channel 1:
+6
-2
Green Channel 2:
-5
+1
Fault code set:
Fault code set at 45 Celsius.JPG

WOT:
WOT orig.JPG

RPM 2000:
at 2000 RPM.JPG
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
today I checked on ECM - with Pico this time.
Something happened at the second WOT.....
Black Channel 1:
+33 (+6)
-15 (-2)
Red Channel 2:
+14 (+1)
-34 (-5)


I got a lean condition from somewhere!
Fault codes P0130 and P0171 popped up everyt couple seconds....
No fault code on missifre enymore.
Before I used to have rich condition.....

So:


 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #29 ·
Preview


Hi orchid, you posted the ECU connector pix, is there any chance you could post the list of all the pins on the ECU? I need to test the wiring between the lambda 1 sensor 1 and the ECU, but if we could have the complete list would be really useful for all other wiring issues. Any chance to get it in English? Cheers


View attachment 191794
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #30 ·
Quick update, I decided to have a look inside the ECU to check if I could spot some cold soldering... Unfortunately I couldn't get to remove the aluminium shield which blocks the view of the motherboard. Its probably glued... The worse part
that the ECU is now Locked... Quite certainly due to tampering! error 17978!!! So just a word of advise
Do not open the ECU!!!


IMG_1951.PNG
is
 

·
Full of Cr*p....
Joined
·
9,603 Posts
It's not "glued", it's "bonded".
Look at YouTube for how to "open them".
Heat, VERY slowly, and a plastic strip to slide under the joints.
Guitar plectrums are popular, but some even use an old credit card!

Slow, and steady, so as NOT to distort the insides.
I've used the same method to open 3 mobile 'phones....

Oh, putting the whole unit in the oven, set at 50C for an hour, does help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #32 ·
It's not "glued", it's "bonded".
Look at YouTube for how to "open them".
Heat, VERY slowly, and a plastic strip to slide under the joints.
Guitar plectrums are popular, but some even use an old credit card!

Slow, and steady, so as NOT to distort the insides.
I've used the same method to open 3 mobile 'phones....

Oh, putting the whole unit in the oven, set at 50C for an hour, does help.

opening the box wasn't the problem. Once you open it, the board is still firmly fixed to the casing and there is no access to the soldering joints due to a shield also very firmly fixed. Perhaps you are right and warming it up might do the trick, but having already locked the ECU I am not taking this any further...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
Preview


Hi orchid, you posted the ECU connector pix, is there any chance you could post the list of all the pins on the ECU? I need to test the wiring between the lambda 1 sensor 1 and the ECU, but if we could have the complete list would be really useful for all other wiring issues. Any chance to get it in English? Cheers


View attachment 191794
I use Tolerance Data.
Its installed i Swedish.
But I found it somewhere on the Internet...
Here:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
I myself have taken couple of weeks off. Havent still found the exact fault!
Thanks for the heads up about your ECM =( Sorry for you!!
There is a repair shop in Poland (I only have the Swedish resellers internet adress) that repairs these ECMs but you have to send the key and the IMMO module together with the ECM to them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
Thanks Paramedic!

Coolant temperature shows correct in measuring blocks. I have considered it.

Chould it still be a problem?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #39 ·
Here from ElsaWin:
ECU -> O2 connector:
33 -> 6
15 -> 2
34 -> 5
14 -> 1
4 -> 4
Mutual connector
to MAF, both O2,
EVAP solenoid -> 3
You also need to have ElsaWin!! You can buy couple hours online time and download them, if you dont have the program.
Here: erWin Anmeldung < Volkswagen AG erWin Online
Thanks Orchid, I have tried a google search for "Tolerance Data" unfortunately most links are for porn sites... I had a look at erWin and is not as easy to understand as tolerance-data. Could I possibly ask you if you can send me the pin list (in Swedish) from tolerance-data. I'll then have a go at translating.

Thanks for the suggestion about repairing the box, unfortunately I need to get the van ready for the yearly holiday trip to southern Italy mid July. Just a few more weekends left to try and resolve the problem. I might end up buying a second hand ECU, I vcan always bypass the immobileser by powering the fuel pump directly.
Thanks for your help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
Please let me know how you do that, bypass the IMMO.
To move the IMMO info to the used ECM - includes opening both ECMs and soldering onto some pins and transfering the info directly to the chip...... risky stuff.
I got Tolerance from Mhhauto forum (link above) - if you are not member there, I could try to find my link where I downloaded from and send you. PM? Or email?
 
21 - 40 of 66 Posts
Top