VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm new to this so please bare with me.

I have a 1996 volkswagon transporter t4 1996 commuter van that is now a camper van.
Lately it's been having a few problems, first coolant leak (now fixed) slight oil leak under eith where I think the gearbox is. And NOW I'm having break fluid leaking from the same place also.

When I got under the van I could see a large rubbery type glue that was holding something together. When I tried to move it. There was quite a lot of movement there and low and behold, it was covering quite a large crack in the (what I think is) gearbox.

I have included a picture of the area which has the rubbery glue and where it's leaking.

Firstly, is this cracked piece actually doing anything. Does it need to be a tight seal for it to work. Can I just weld it?
Secondly, why is there hydronic fluid, and small amounts of oil just loose in this area of the van?

I apologise if it's not the gear box. The location of it is to the right of the oil tank (when looking at the front of the van). There is a flimsy black metal sheet attached to the side of it, but it doesn't like it seals anything in, I think it's just designed to cover it up, but this is where the fluid is dripping from at its final point.

Any advise or information would be very much appreciated

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I was reading a few forums before posting this one, all of them were saying that it's most likely the master or the slave cylinder that's leaking. I have checked both the master and slave and both are completely dry, I suspect it's the inside of the gear box from where it's leaking,

Pic below showing the slave cylinder is completely dry.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Looks like the bell housing where the clutch and flywheel live, assuming it is there should be nothing there fluid wise to leak. Still not good to be cracked though.

·
Registered
247 Posts