VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right, I've been chasing dreams of having a t4 since I was 18 and 14 years later I've finally made it! Hurrah. .

Lets just say I'm at the low end of the T4 property ladder, but I still cant stop checking it out in the driveway! Its a 2001 Caravelle 2.5td ACV. To be converted into a Mountainbiking weekend van.

Its done 260km and those are just the ones that have been left on the clock!!! ( I have my suspicions...) It has a few tell tell signs of having been a taxi, with a fire extinguisher bracket and two holes in the lower centre console that possibly for a CB Radio etc.

Anyway to the point!

If you had just bought this and wanted to do work on the mechanical side of the build what would you do.. I basically want to send it into the garage and get a lot of stuff done at once in the hope to save a little in the long run. I bought cheap with the intention of doing this work so have a budget for it.

My list so Far:

Timing belt
Water pump
Brake Servo / Master cylinder ( currently hissing)
All pipes conditions
Inlet Manifold clean

I've had a tip to get the oil cooler o'ring or gasket checked where it meets the engine block.

Been reading a lot about EGR deletes, Is this a safe permanent thing to do to keep inlet clean without causing any problems?

Any other tips very much greatly accepted, please don't be afraid to suggest the simplest of things, it's my first van and have a lot to learn.

Already been given advice to get a Vagcom cable and have just found VagCat.com etc but still a bit bewildered by it all.

Many thanks!!!A:

·
Registered
480 Posts
can't help on the diesel front as I run the 2.5 petrol.However I do know that 260km is only around 160,000 miles and that's only just run in from what I've heard about the 2.5 Diesel engine.
Nice looking bus by the wayT:

·
T4 2.5 TDi 2003 SWB
4,714 Posts
I see the family are enjoying the bus already T: