VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi newbie here (casual lurker for few months) from South Wales. I had my dads old van from his back garden that has been sat there for about 7-8 years. Made great storage for his fishing gear and a post for the washing line via the tailgate hinge. Since he had purchased a T5 he never really had the time to do anything with it apart from use it for such things. I’d have a cuppa there once or twice a week and I would just look at it without a thought for reviving back to its former glory....
Being a paint technician for 18+ years I would always get asked “do you do any hobbles?” but I never had a premises to do it until an opportunity had come along for a small lock up (Like rocking horse sh#t around my neck of the woods). Great it just needs extraction, lights, rewiring , roof leak sorting and painting. Gotta speculate to accumulate and all that malarkey so I just gets on with it. After a few steady weeks of progress I had that little brainwave and I thought to myself maybe I could just give it a go. So I pops the question to the old man and he’s like “f#ck aye boy, do what you like with it”, Winner! Here she is.... I’ve named her Silky :giggle:
C4CC2CD4-0D36-4A19-96E9-FAA282DFD118.jpeg

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Silky looks like she’s been pulled out from the hull of the titanic so with very little (none) welding experience it’s going to be all fun and games. So let’s start with the basics.... 1.9 non turbo SWB with 167k on the clock and FSH it’s mechanically sound but I will be changing the complete braking system, timing belt, water pump, shocks and bushes. Fresh battery and juice and she starts up on the button. First things first, she needs a wash!
B82D906D-5865-4B09-99DB-48342D6E8765.jpeg

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Just how good or bad is she? Only one way to find out, let’s get stripping down and see what we’re up against....