VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Re-posted in more appropriate section?

Hello all fellow Vdubbers! newbie here - only joined forum to get van fixed TBH.

Thanks god I did - the info on here and the net in general gave me the inspiration to take on this horrible common problem myself and win.

Will try to be breif as poss, tho may well be answering a coupe of known issues

I have had a 2003 ex AA 2.5tdi for approx 3 years now from 40k to present 73k - after about a year of ownership it started to lose top end speed going down to around 50 flat out!! during all the routine checks on valves vac pipes etc I was on the point of changing the turbo when I stumbled across a decat link pipe for £45 on ebay - changed that and hey presto van went and whistled like a subaru!! VERY pleased! whilst trying to diagnose fault I felt like changing everything but luckily only actually spent on changing the Mass air flow meter unecessarily. During the first fault I noticed a small hose had popped off the turbo wastegate actuating mech - put it back on and it didnt run as well so left it off and so it ran very sweetly pulling like a train even with a constant 5 - 800kg of carpet cleaning gear permanently in the back.

Last good friday I was popping to a mates house, just after setting off going up into 3rd gear there was an almghty lurch and bang as engine died - I though I had run someone over!!
Turns out the camshaft had snapped in 4 places! emare!!!!
3 weeks and a big bill later (£1370 included new waterpump belt kit belts cylinder head and replaced cracked piston! etc so was a real bargain) got the van back and again it was down on power - put it down to a diesel leak which was rectified under job warranty but still down on power.