VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Couldn't find very much info on this subject so had a go at the job myself and thought I’d write a quick guide if anyone else is debating doing the job themselves. Please don’t take this guide to seriously, I have probably left things out and done things wrong as I am no mechanic.

Reason for change:

Bought a van with no service history and a noise coming from clutch area which goes away when clutch is engaged but comes back under load up to about 2000rpm. Diagnosed as either thrust bearing or dual mass flywheel.

Time consuming things:

Trying to remove ball joint, which I didn’t have to in the end. Having to grind the centre of the flywheel out. Lining the gearbox back up as there is the centre spline and the offside drive shaft to line up as well.

Total time:

6-7 hours start to finish.

This was all done on my driveway with one jack and two decent axle stands a basic socket and spanner set a couple of lever bars, and a spine bit set for the flywheel bolts and driveshaft bolts. Oh and a grinder (if flywheel is damaged) and a big bit of wood!

Started by jacking the nearside jacking point and putting an axle stand right at the front of the van in front of the subframe where it bolts to the chassis, as we’ll be lowering the subframe later. Jacked up other side put axle stand on subframe this side as not dropping it down.

Wheel off, track rod end off anti roll bar drop link top nut off. Tried removing the ball joint, after 20 minutes gave up didn’t need it off in the end anyway. Drive shaft bolts out.