VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 152 Posts

·
Registered
3,307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Right here goes, please bear with me as this is my first build thread. After being inspired (read jealous) of the likes of General Lee, Maude and ant821, I have, for a long time, longed for a tear drop trailer.

I would love to buy one of Keith's creations to support his new venture, or buy Lee's baby blue one, but finances dictate otherwise!

So when a flatbed trailer, 6'6" X 4', in need of attention, became available at a very reasonable price of £10, I just could not resist. :jiggy

So I set about planning my build, but christ almighty, it has taken over my head. All I think about is teardrops!!:eek:

Any ways, after a lot of grinding, welding, and black hammerite, and a set of new suspension units and a jockey wheel, the chassis is ready to roll!A:

After taking it for a test run, it was back under cover for more hammerite!

Then it was a trip to the timber merchants to buy some sheets of exterior ply.

This is as far as I got, but will update as I go along!!!!

·
Registered
3,307 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Had quite a productive day today, got quite a lot done, so thought I'd post up some more pictures. Takes a while to remember to take photos during everything, normally just get head down and crack on, but have to keep stopping to take some snaps!

After much debating whether or not I have the right shape, Missus wants this, I want that, decide to go with what will be best all round. (boring) Then comes the nerve racking bit of cutting it out:eek:

Then onto the base, trying to get it square, level, strong enough.....etc.:confused:
Dont think it will fall apart in a hurry, I have used so much glue and so many screws, it is unreal:eek: