VW T4 Forum - VW T5 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i am new to the T4 Forum and i am looking for a SWB T4 to convert into a Camper/Day van.
One thing i need to know before i go looking at them is what engine is best for the biggest MPG ?
80-90% of my journeys are spent on the motorway and i'm happy to plod along a 65mph.
I am coming from a really economical car (65mpg) and the van is going to be my daily driver and i commute 30 miles per day again on 80% motorway. I usually do about 1500 miles per month.
I would be happy to run a van on veg oil if that would help ?

I have spoke to a couple of owners and they both told me vastly different figures for MPG.

It would be great to find out what engines people have and what MPG you are getting.

Mark

·
Banned
10,255 Posts
Hello, If I were you I'd be looking at the 1.9td which I have, plenty will say the 2.5 which may return a couple of mpg more but if running on bio/veg I would say the 1.9td wins hands down and will be more economical, maintenance costs will be cheaper too, and lets be honest with the traffic levels what they are who needs to be driving like a twonk as the 2.5 owners will tell you it's much faster but who gives a ***t T:

·
Registered
60 Posts
... the 2.5 owners will tell you it's much faster but who gives a ***t T:
The 2.5 is much faster...dont bother with this 65mph business, put your foot down and drive like a twonk - i do and i can get anything up to 67 or 68 mph (head down, jiggling forward on my seat, down hill with a tail wind) and still return 37mpg Rasp:

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies. Speed is not really an issue although i would like to be able to do a stead 75ish on the motorway when needed without flogging it !
On that note can you retro-fit cruise control to a T4 ?

·
Banned
10,255 Posts